Day Twelve – Bring on the Summertime

Standard

According to a calendar, June 20th marks the first day of summer. Others say Memorial Day marks its beginning. Personally, I think a few things need to happy before summer has officially started. It begins after a few important B’s.   

Barbecues – Until I’ve been to a barbecue, I can’t consider it summer. Even as a vegetarian, barbecuing in a backyard has always been the way to kick off summer. Maybe I’m not grilling burgers, but veggie patties and my new favorite, “Not Dogs” (hot dogs without meat, if you didn’t get that), can pretty much be considered my favorite meal of summer, especially if they’re accompanied by some potato salad or corn on the cob. 

Baseball – Nothing screams summer to me more than going to baseball games. Growing up in Queens, my dad would always take us to see the Mets play at Shea Stadium (RIP) once the weather got nice. We’d sit pretty high up, but that was okay. (I usually got bored of the games about halfway through and started counting the airplanes that flew over the stadium.) Dad would buy us ice cream served in those little bowls shaped like batting helmets, or big, salty pretzels with mustard. Years later, I still follow the same tradition. (Going to baseball games when the weather was nice, not the ice cream in batting helmets. Do they even serve those anymore?) My friends and I will get cheap tickets to the Mets or the Yankees and take the train in to watch the games. Last night, I went to my first Yankee game of the season with my brother and some friends from school (We had separation anxiety already after just a few days apart), and I’m sure it won’t be the last of summer. 

Bathing Suits – I’m a little spoiled in this area, as a graduate of UMiami, but most people would say it’s not summer until you’ve worn a bathing suit. The first time I wore a bathing suit in 2012 was in January…don’t hate me. But being able to wear a bikini at home in New York is different. Bikini season means floating in my roommate Daniella’s in-ground pool, tanning, and wine coolers. It also means having a bikini body….which reminds me, I desperately need to join a gym. 

Buying a Gym Membership – Kidding, but not really.

Beach – I got my toes in the water, ass in the sand… I don’t know the rest of the words. But the beach is the sure sign that summer has arrived. Again, I was spoiled by four years of beautiful, Miami beaches with white sand and crystal clear water. But hey, I’m a New Yorker again. So Rockaway Beach it is!!! One of my real fears is that when I get a real job and I’m not just everyone’s favorite waitress, I’m gonna miss out on some serious beach time in the summer. In which case I should probably appreciate this summer and be at the beach every sunny day possible. Challenge accepted. 

And then there are the B’s that everyone wants in summer.

Beers – Nothing compliments a summer day like a cold beer. If you can find something better, let me know.

Boys – Summer means new guys that I can trick into liking me enough to buy me dinner. Muahahaha.

Bronze – Who doesn’t want to have the perfect tan by the end of the summer?

Blonde – Okay, maybe this one just applies to me. But after a summer in the sun, my hair gets SO light. 

Best Friends – Kinda gay, but true. Summer to me has meant coming home from school to be reunited with the family and friends that I grew up with. It’s what made coming home from Miami so easy for me every year. I’ve got a solid crew up here that no amount of Miami sun and sand could keep me away from. 

The way I see it, this is the last summer I can really live it up and behave like a college kid. Or a just-graduated-college kid, at least. So cheers to the biggest, boldest, blondest summer I can have. Go out with a bang, right? 

Leave a Reply

