Day Sixty-Two – A Quick Break

Standard

I don’t have much time to post today, as I have a bunch more work to finish up before I leave the office in a half hour. But I realized I never shared the beautiful picture I took the other day from Union Square.

Through some research I did while at work, I discovered something called Manhattanhenge, a twice-a-year phenomenon in NYC where the sun sets directly in line with the East-to-West running Manhattan streets. After work on Wednesday, I spend the afternoon on my own, reading a book in the park and watching street performers in Union Square. It was nice to have some time to myself to relax, and at 8:24 p.m., I got to experience this view:

Image

Absolutely beautiful.

I’m sure other people got better views of this fantastic happening, but I was glad I got to see it with my own eyes. I suggest you all keep your eyes open for next year’s Manhattanhenge.

Given the world doesn’t end this December, of course. Then you all seriously missed out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

