Day Ninety-Two – *Star Struck*

Standard

Last week I started working two side jobs for the company. One of the jobs is at XVI, a rooftop lounge on the west side of Manhattan. I’ll be working at the door of the bar during it’s weekly Happy Hour, organizing reservations and keeping track of how many people attend. It’s a sweet gig – I get to look all profesh and more in-the-know than the rest of the people walking down 48th Street. Plus, the bouncers are funny as hell and XVI is a pretty cool spot to be associated with.

How cool, you may ask? Well, below is a picture of one of the attendees this past Thursday evening.

Image

H to the izz-O, V to the izz-A, Jazzy, the Jigga Man, lyrical genius Shawn Carter himself, JAY Z.
No big deal.

Needless to say, I felt pretty important and definitely didn’t text all my friends immediately to tell them he had just walked into the lounge I was working at!!!! …Okay, so maybe I did. But hey, it’s my first night of work and a serious celebrity walks right up to the door I’m working at? That’s pretty cool.

I have to say, though, I was proud of myself for not turning into a starry-eyed celeb-obsessed fan, trying to snap pics as he walked by. I am by no means downplaying seeing Jay Z at all, but had it been Beyonce who walked past me, it may have been a different story. After all, she is perfect, God’s gift to the music industry and to mankind, described perfectly by my friend Brooke as “the $1,000 sundae at Seredipity.” She probably would have flown in past me with angel wings, with “Halo” playing majestically as she entered through the threshold of the venue. I would have most likely begged her to simply touch my arm, and upon arriving home, changed the name of my blog to “92 Days After I Graduated, Beyonce Touched Me” and never posted again. Because I would’ve died of happiness.

There are probably a list of about five celebrities that I would go “fan crazy” for. Like sweaty, nervous, speechless, giggling, too-awkward-to-communicate-like-a-human crazy. You all already know number one…

Image

Is she even real?

Image

Oh, Britney. The Britney pictured above was an idol to teenage Kristen like no other. One of the only times in my life I was happy to have worn a uniform to school every day, the Hit Me Baby One More Time video inspired me to never underestimate the power of a school-girl outfit. For me, Brit will never go out of style. It doesn’t matter that she once went crazy and shaved her head! Or that she spontaneously got married once in Vegas! Isn’t that what every girl wants to do anyway? Ugh, Brit, you’re a vision, and one of the reasons I will never dye my hair.

Image

If you know me at all, you know that the Harry Potter series has always been a huge part of my life. In fact, upon finishing the last of the 7 books, I actually cried into the pages because I acknowledged that my childhood was coming to an end as Harry’s years at Hogwarts concluded. I will watch any of the movies, at any time of the day, even if I watched it the day before.Hell, I’ll watch it two times in a row and still enjoy it just as much. My obsession hit a peak when I visited Universal Studios with my family last summer and saw Hogwarts for the first time. I was actually speechless. My mom says I had the same expression on my face when I saw Mickey Mouse for the first time as a 3-year-old as when I first stepped into on the castle. Like all my childhood dreams were coming to life, right before my eyes. And it’s for this reason that if I were to ever come into contact with any of the actors from the movies, I’d probably just fall to the ground. To me, they’re not Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint. They’re Harry, Ron, and Hermoine. Forever.

Image

Captain America. I chose an animated version of this super hero because I’m wildly attracted to pretty much anyone in a Captain America costume. Like on the vacation to Universal Studios I previously mentioned, I actually couldn’t stop giggling while I took a picture with the guy dressed like Captain America. That being said, I’m sure my reaction to Chris Evans in the suit would entirely stop my heart. Guess who I’ll be looking for this Halloween? Boys…you’ve been warned.

Image

QUAID. Dennis Quaid. When I was young, you were the super-cool dad that worked on the vineyard in California, with a golden retriever, who let me ride horses and switch places with the identical twin sister I met at summer camp and was still in love with my British mom. Today, you’re still the dad from Parent Trap, but now, you’re a hot dad. And who doesn’t love hot dads? I can’t really explain the obsession with Dennis Quaid, but it exists. And I’m pretty sure if I saw him in person, I’d hug the crap out of him, and I wouldn’t be able to let go.

So there’s my Star Struck list. Thank you in advance for not judging me.

And thank you, cool new job, for getting me closer to meeting the angel that is Beyonce Knowles.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 267 – ‘Effing February… « 365 Days In The Life of a College Graduate

Leave a Reply

