Day Ninety-Four – Look Mom, I’m Domestic! Episode Two

Standard

…It should actually be titled, “Look Mom, Dee’s Domestic!” because the only work I really did in cooking this next meal was eating it. And trust me, it wasn’t that hard.

To really convey the significance of the sandwich that Dee made/I consumed for dinner on Monday evening, I have to go back in time a bit.

April 12th, 2012 – my twenty-second birthday. Having gone out celebrating the night before, my roomies and I woke up feeling a bit fatigued and craving some greasy food. Rather than hit up the campus Rathskeller, Daniella decided to look up some delicious recipes that we could cook, so that we wouldn’t even need to leave the couch that we had glued ourselves to. Genius. While conducting her research, she stumbled upon the most life-changing discovery ever to have been made within the walls of our house. April 12th was not only my birthday….. but also….

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~* National Grilled Cheese Day *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

LITERALLY LIFE-CHANGING. I could not have been born on a more spring day. I will have a grilled cheese sandwich on my birthday every year for the rest of my life, and anyone who reads this must vow to hold me to that. I promise I won’t fight you on it.

Anyway, upon uncovering this secret that society had so selfishly hid from us, we decided, obviously, to make grilled cheese sandwiches. Dee found a recipe, but not just any grilled cheese sandwich recipe. The most magical, mystical, miraculous, melt-in-your-mouth cheese sandwich ever grilled. Upon consumption, my hangover instantly disappeared, and I felt more alive than I had in over 7 hours.

Grilled Cheese would never be the same again.

And so it had to be recreated, here, in New York City, in my kitchen, to prove that this sandwich was not a mere fantasy l had concocted in my mind, but rather, a reality that could be enjoyed for generations to come. And recreate it, we did.

Enter: Daniella, with a bag of groceries and a marvelous, untamed spirit, like that of an Iron Chef contestant, and Kristen, with a growling stomach and a hunger for victory. (“Victory” is a metaphor for a grilled cheese sandwich, in this situation.) Here’s how it’s made.

  • In a pan, sauté some spinach and sliced mushrooms in butter, white wine, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer until cooked.
  • In a separate, butter-coated pan, lay your B.O.C. (bread of choice. We used yummy Publix bakery bread.), on low heat.
  • On your slices of bread, layer shredded mozzarella and crumbled feta cheese. Cover and let cook until the cheese is all melty and delicious and the bread is golden brown.
  • Scoop sautéed spinach and mushrooms onto half your cheesy bread slices, and cover those with the rest of your cheesy bread.
  • Cut, serve, and cry tears of joy.

Check out these professional iPhone shots of Daniella’s work of art:

Image

Image

You will love it, guaranteed.

So a big thank you to Daniella, for changing the way I see the culinary world. And as you depart for your fifth year at the University of Miami, I wish you luck in all your endeavors, including the creation of new and exciting sandwiches. I shall miss you greatly, and anticipate your return to NYC, and my kitchen, already.

Sorry for the cheesy ending.

xoxo gg.

An Afterthough:

Before I conclude this post, I’d like to also give a shoutout to Laura, who was a bit of a Cheese Connoisseur herself, creating a sandwich that combined two American delicacies – Grilled Cheese and Macaroni and Cheese – into one, mouth-watering explosion. Check it out. I applaud your creativity, dedication and performance.

Image

Leave a Reply

