Day 116 – The Art of Third Wheeling

Standard

Most of us, at some point in our lives, have experienced what it’s like to be a third wheel. You know what I mean. Your friend is in a relationship, you’re not, yet you all still hang out together. Third wheeling can either be a fun, no-pressure situation, usually when you’re friends with both parties, and don’t have to worry about excessive PDA. But sometimes, it can be miserable.

For most of my life, friends of mine have been in and out of relationships, and so I’ve spend quite a bit of time being the third wheel. Lucky for me, Laura’s current boyfriend Cliff, who has to deal with more of my third-wheeling than he though he signed up for, is super cool and seems to not mind my company that much…yet. As for me, I’ve just never found myself the right person to get serious with. I’m just too picky, that’s why I’m single.

If you’re someone who, like me, has spent a great deal of your young adult life third-wheeling with a friend and his/her significant other, fear not. I’m here to tell you a little bit about why it’s okay to be a third wheel.

Third wheeling has been part of our society forever, since the beginning of time (probably). There are more third wheels existing in literature, movies, and the lives of celebrities than you even recognize. Take for example – Harry Potter. Yeah, Ron and Hermoine don’t technically get together until the end of book seven, but was Harry an idiot to not notice the sexual tension between the two of them ever since Hermoine took Krum to the Yule Ball in their fourth year? Regardless, you know Ron didn’t mind having his BFF there with him whenever he and Hermoine hung out. And Harry was either oblivious to, or ignored, the fact that he was the third wheel to his two besties. Bros before hoes! (Plus, if he did realize he was being third wheel’ed, he got the ultimate revenge by making out with Ron’s little sister, so I think they’re even.)

Ron’s like, “I’m only letting this go because you’re probably going to kill Voldemort one day.”

Other examples that I’m sure you’ll agree with: Joey from Friends, Jacob from Twilight, Prince Harry’s entire life, Ted Moseby from How I Met Your Mother, Cameron from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, you get the picture. There’s always a third wheel, but no one ever dislikes that person! In fact, a lot of the time, the humor/drama/excitement would be gone without the third wheel. Here are some third wheels that have truly been beneficial to a relationship, or at least, were a really funny addition to the original couple:

For all the girls and guys out there that have to be the third wheel, don’t get down on yourself about it. Look on the bright side! You’ll always be “the single friend” that gets brought to parties, which means all eyes are on you. Plus, you’ll never have to go “half-sies” on your food, buy a drink for anyone else, or have a designated beer pong partner. And don’t worry about having to sit alone when you’re headed out together. That’s why the Long Island Rail Road made half the train rows of 3 seats instead of two, with people like us in mind!! So next time your coupled-up friends ask you to hang out with them, give it a try. You’ll have fun – I know you wheel.

….Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.

2 responses »

  1. So what you’re trying to say is you’re going to make out with one of our siblings?

    P.s. you know I don’t go halfsies on my food…

Leave a Reply

