Day 182 – ‘Tis the Season Dubbed by Coffee

Standard

Last week I was having a conversation with someone about how soon is “too soon” to start listening to Christmas music. It was the day of the Nor’Easter in NYC, and this girl, who has spent the last four autumns in South Florida, was shocked to see snow falling from the November sky. To me, snow = Christmastime, so I felt completely justified in putting on a Pandora Christmas station during work last Wednesday.

It’s just been the way I determine the seasons. The first snow, in my mind, marks the first day of winter, the same way that the first day I wear my Uggs and drink hot coffee marks the first day of Fall.

Yes, there are specific dates on a calendar that officially announce the First Day of each season, and that’s what most people rely on when deciding what time of year it is. Others use holidays, such as Memorial Day, Labor Day, Groundhog Day, etc., to mark the change in a season. As a student, the seasons are often associated with school schedules and events. And many, like me, rely on specific moments or happenings, that can vary from year to year, to determine what season it is – when the first leaf falls, when the mall puts up Christmas decorations, when the first buds appear on a tree, the first beach day of summer.

And as I sipped on my seasonally unaffiliated Dunkin’ Donuts latte, I realized the best way to determine the season:

Starbucks.

Tell me it wasn’t fall when every girl you know Instagrammed a picture of her first #PumpkinSpiceLatte of the season. Even I did it. You can’t drink that in the summer, you just CAN’T. It would be like having a pumpkin on your stoop in July. Or going apple picking in January.

Frappuccinos? Refreshers? Iced Coffee or Passion Tea Lemonade? Just the sound of these makes my office feel warmer and more summery. Yeah, you can get these whenever you want, but in the summertime, Starbucks will draw you in by advertising how fresh and cool these drinks are. Summer commence.

And as of last week, Starbucks is using the red holiday cups. And their “Fall Favorites” board has been replaced with “Holiday Specials,” featuring White Chocolate Mochas and Gingerbread Lattes, decorated with snowflakes and candy canes and pretty white reindeer. Winter? I’m gonna go with yes.

So thank you Starbucks, for telling me it’s not too soon to listen to my Christmas Pandora station while I drink my Peppermint Mocha in my red holiday cup and wear my sweater and boots while it snows outside.

After all…

Winter is coming…

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 199 – Making Moves « 365 Days In The Life of a College Graduate

Leave a Reply

